Author Topic: Stator?  (Read 548 times)

Offline Valzdl650

• DL650 Paderborn germany
  • Bike: DL650 K5
Stator?
« on: April 09, 2024, 22:39:39 »
Finished a 11 hour shift bike won’t start , battery dead! Running up and down the hill trying to bump it but could get enough speed ! Dramas could it be a stator what keeps draining battery? Infuse bike everyday so it’s always running , never stays still, but every morning it feels like it don’t want to turn over

Offline vstroman

• Bike: DL650A L2
Re: Stator?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2024, 22:50:25 »
I'm no expert but first thing I'd do is try a new battery. Could be the reg/rec too?

Offline Valzdl650

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2024, 23:37:06 »
Yh I can get another battery I will bring the charger tomorro and get it charged so I can bring it home, but I think maybe an issue somewhere as the battery ain’t old

Offline nigel s

• Bike: DL650A M2
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2024, 02:47:13 »
You need a smart charger for a sealed battery, a normal (fixed rate) charger will fry the battery, Optimate is my choice. You will also need a multimeter,a cheap one is fine. When fully charged and then left to settle for a couple of hours the battery should read about 12 .6 volts with the multimeter before connecting to the bike.No point testing the charging system with a poor battery.
After starting the bike the battery should read 13.5 to 14.8 volts ,at say 3,000 rpm, with the multimeter at the terminals.
If low reg/stator/wiring is faulty.
Early 650s did have poor stators.
See second post here.
https://www.stromtrooper.com/threads/voltage-question.443051/

Offline Gert

• Bike: DL650 K5 Blue, DL650 K6 Red
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2024, 07:57:40 »
Did you take note of the position of the key when you unlocked the bike? Any chance that you may have inadvertently switched the park lights on when you locked the steering?