Author Topic: Garmin 595LM  (Read 2099 times)

Offline old git

• Bike: DL1000 L6, BMW R1250RT
Garmin 595LM
« on: June 19, 2018, 06:35:47 »
I've been using a Garmin Zumo 660 Sat Nav for the past 7 years and it has been very much a love hate relationship. We're currently on a 3 week trip around Europe (on FJR) and for the most part the Zumo has performed well with the multi way point routes I've loaded. It all turned to sh!t yesterday! The route was basically the quickest way from Bratislava to Krakow. All looked good the night before but when we left the hotel to start the journey it thought we were in the middle of the Danube. Long story short - all the detailed European maps appeared to be gone. We eventually got to Krakow and found our accommodation by using the Map programme on my phone. When we got settled I downloaded the maps again and all appears to be well again.

I know there are those that still swear by maps and I have used them in the past but using Sat Nav technology has opened up so many other options that I couldn't have realistically considered in the past. We routinely travel to busy city centre locations as well as plot some fairly complicated routes. As I've got used to the quirks of the Zumo the routes have become less prone to failure. The use of the Zumo in finding busy city centre locations has been almost faultless in 7 years.

I'm now considering changing devices and having considered both the latest Tom Tom and the Garmin 595LM. On balance, in spite of the price, I think I'll go for the Garmin. Has anyone got one and if so, what's your opinion?

Offline kwarr

• Bike: 2012 Glee
Re: Garmin 595LM
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2018, 09:50:03 »